Jonathan Fryer

Writer, Lecturer, Broadcaster and Liberal Democrat Politician

What Are Facebook’s Criteria for Expulsion?

Posted by jonathanfryer on Friday, 12th September, 2008

My friend, the publisher Gary Pulsifer, has been kicked off Facebook — for acquiring too many friends too quickly. Apparently, they have a set rate at which you are allowed to add people, though given how many ‘friends’ added Nick Clegg after he was elected leader of the Liberal Democrats, I am surprised he hasn’t suffered the same fate! It was a politician who persuaded me I should join Facebook: Steve Webb, MP for Northavon, who early on saw its benefits for connecting with electors, especially young people. He was right, and I have found it enormously useful, not only in politics, but in journalism, academics and keeping up with friends all round the world. But now I am nervous (well, maybe that’s putting it a bit strongly). How many friends can I accept each week before I am deemed to be bootable?

Dear Mark Zuckerberg, please can you elucidate: what are Facebook’s criteria for expelling people (other than fraudsters and scammers, of course)? And shouldn’t you let genuine compulsive networkers like Gary back in?

Leave a comment