Jonathan Fryer

Writer, Lecturer, Broadcaster and Liberal Democrat Politician

Archive for July 11th, 2017

Flat on My Back

Posted by jonathanfryer on Tuesday, 11th July, 2017

teddy bear in hospitalLast week I had to go into the Royal London Hospital for a major hernia repair. It was meant to be a daycare job, but proved more complicated than originally hoped so I was an in-patient for a couple of days. Hats off to all the wonderful staff at the hospital (only one of whom was British, Brexiteers please note). I was warned that it would take two weeks before I could resume work, and six weeks before I would be my usual bouncy self. All but my most essential appointments for the following fortnight were duly cancelled. Even so, like most energetic people I have been deeply frustrated over the past seven days by my physical inability to do much more than lie flat on my back, often asleep. The abdomen is a hyper-sensitive part of the body, which makes sitting or even standing something of a trial, though I am shuffling round a little more today. And for the first time since the op, I am actually capable of writing a piece for my blog; because it is not just the physical toll an operation and general anaesthetic take; the brain gets sapped as well. Even a Facebook posting was too high a hill to climb, though I did manage a few tweets. Ah well, I suppose these temporary setbacks are there to remind us of our own mortality, or at least, fragility. And as one of the nurses said when I was finally discharged, “Go home, lie down and enjoy the rest!”

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged: | 2 Comments »