Jonathan Fryer

The World Is My Oyster (Card)

Posted by jonathanfryer on Saturday, 7th July, 2007

oyster-swipe.jpgThere are many things I can (and do) criticise Ken Livingstone for, but the one legacy he will leave for which I will be eternally grateful is the Oyster Card system for integrated public transport in the capital. Mine may cost me the equivalent of the rental of a quite pleasant apartment in Istanbul each month, but it allows me to shuttle round the whole of London on my complex professional and political rounds, happily and easily tranferring from bus to tube to train (even Silverlink is getting plugged into the system).

Today, for example, I had some administrative stuff to do in the West End, followed by a trip over to Ealing Southall to help out in the by-election (and, incidentally, enjoy at lunch the most delicious garlic prawn masala I have ever eaten in my life), back home to clear emails and freshen up, before heading to Orpington Liberal Club for their annual gourmet BBQ – a good chance to catch up with what is going on in my old stomping ground, and to congratulate David McBride for being selected as PPC  for the seat I fought in 1987. And of course, my trusty Oyster brought me safely back home, with a swipe here and a swipe there. OK, the last few days were a pain, when my local tube station was closed because a train got derailed when a roll of tarpaulin fell onto the track. But, hey, that’s not my favourite molusc’s fault!   

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

